Different Type of Iguanas (Iguana Species)

Marine Iguana (Amblyrhynchus cristatus)

The Marine Iguana is located only on the Galapagos Islands. Unlike many other lizards the Marine Iguana has the ability to live and forage in the sea. They can dive over 30 ft into the sea. They are darkish black in color. They are rather clumsy on land but are graceful swimmers. This species is protected under the laws of Ecuador and the actual population number is unknown.

Galapagos Land Iguana (Conolophus subcristatus)

The Galapagos Land Iguana is located only on the Galapagos Islands. They are a yellowish to brown color. They stay on land and do not venture into the sea like the Marine Iguana. It is estimated that Galapagos Land Iguanas can live 50 to 60 years of age. Population estimates are between 5,000 to 10,000.

Spinytail Iguana (Ctenosaura)

The genus Ctenosaura actually includes 15 species. These species can be located in Mexico and Central America. These species include:

  • The Northeastern Spinytail Iguana
  • Campeche Spinytail Iguana
  • Baker’s Spinytail Iguana
  • Balsas Armed Lizard
  • Yucatán Spinytail Iguana
  • Yellowback Spinytail Iguana
  • Cape Spinytail Iguana
  • Honduran Paleate Spinytail Iguana
  • Oaxacan Spinytail Iguana
  • Roatán Spinytail Iguana
  • Guatemalan Spinytail Iguana
  • Mexican Spinytail Iguana
  • Club Tail Iguana
  • The Black Spinytail Iguana

Rock Iguana (Cyclura)

The genus Cyclura includes several species. These Iguanas can be found in the West Indies. Every species of the Rock Iguana is endangered.There are currently nine recognized species. These include:

  • Turks & Caicos Rock Iguana
  • Jamaican Iguana
  • Rhinoceros Iguana
  • Northern Bahamian Rock Iguana
  • Grand Gayman Blue Iguana
  • Cuban Iguana
  • Anegada Ground Iguana
  • Ricord’s Iguana
  • The San Salvador Iguana

Desert Iguana (Dipsosaurus dorsalis)

The Desert Iguana is a common lizard located Southwestern United States and Northern Mexico. They are a medium sized lizard and appear pale gray-tan to cream in color. They can withstand high heat and are often found while other lizards have hidden away.

Chuckwalla Iguana (Sauromalus)

The Sauromalus genus includes 5 species which are located in Southwestern United States and Northern Mexico. Chuckwalla’s can live for 25 years or more. The males tend to be reddish-pink to orange or yellow to light-gray. Females have light to dark gray bodies. Males are larger than females. The 5 species include:

  • Common Chuckwalla
  • The Peninsular Chuckwalla
  • The Angel Island Chuckwalla
  • The Monserrat Chuckwalla
  • The San Esteban Chuckwalla

Fiji Banded Iguana & Fiji Crested Iguana (Brachylophus)

These Iguanas are native to the islands of Fiji and Tonga. Females are solid green while males are green with white or pale blue bands across their bodies. Both have a yellow underside.

Green Iguana & Lesser Antillean Iguana (Iguana)

These Iguanas are located in Central and South America and the Caribbean. The Green Iguana are commonly kept as pets due to their calm disposition but can require a great amount of care. The Lesser Antillean Iguana is a protected species due to its decline in population from hunting. They also lack the distinctive stripe pattern that the Green Iguana has.

As Editor-in-Chief at MyPetReptiles.com, I bring a decade's worth of experience as a reptile enthusiast and breeder. From nurturing bearded dragons to understanding the nuances of chameleons, I'm deeply passionate about sharing my journey and expertise. My mission is to empower fellow reptile lovers, providing them with valuable insights to ensure the best care for their captivating pets. Here at MyPetReptiles.com, we believe in transforming knowledge into shared joy for our global community of reptile owners.

Leave a Comment